Misztal's project, entitled “Spatiotemporal Investigation of Urban Pollution and Air Quality (SPING-UP-AQ)", involves testing air quality in Texas.

Lance with hosts, Dr. C. Gangalakshmi and Dr. L. Saranraj, along with local school students who visited the college.

Lance Manuel was selected by the Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board for a Fulbright-Nehru Specialist Grant to work on a program to assist early-career researchers and faculty at a small rural engineering college located in a village in Southern India as they navigate academic advancement expectations.  He has been undertaking this work over a few weeks in July and August of 2022.

The Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) has named Dr. Chandra Bhat the recipient of the 2022 Theodore M. Matson Memorial Award. This award was established in 1957 to recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the practice and advancement of traffic engineering.

Cars on highway

In recent years, more vehicles include partially autonomous driving features, such as blind spot detectors, automatic braking and lane sensing, that are said to increase safety. However, a recent study by Chandra Bhat and other researchers from The University of Texas at Austin finds that some of that safety benefit may be offset by people driving more, thereby clogging up roads and exposing themselves to more potential crashes.

As heat waves hit almost every corner of the globe, Dr. William O’Brien and other members of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is calling attention to water resources and climate change in a uniquely expressive way.  

Paola Passalacqua & Kerry Kinney have been elected by the Graduate Studies Committee members within the Cockrell School of Engineering to serve on the Graduate Assembly for a three-year term, 2022-2025.

Dr. Salvatore Salamone received the 2022 Person of the Year award at the European Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring, which occurred July 4-7, 2022 in Palermo, Italy.

On April 6, the CAEE Department hosted its Graduate Symposium. Planned by Assistant Professors Blair Johnson and Krishna Kumar, as well as graduate students Emma Palmer and Runal Shrivastava, the symposium provided an opportunity for students to showcase their research and presentation skills. The all-day event, held on the University campus in the Engineering Education and Research Center, began with a poster session, and was followed by presentations in the Mulva Auditorium. Sandra Akmansoy of Arup concluded the event as the keynote speaker.

Mimicking the human body, specifically the actuators that control muscle movement, is of immense interest around the globe. In recent years, it has led to many innovations to improve robotics, prosthetic limbs and more, but creating these actuators typically involves complex processes, with expensive and hard-to-find materials.

Roger Bonnecaze, an internationally recognized expert in rheology and modeling and simulation for nanomanufacturing who has served as a faculty member at The University of Texas at Austin for nearly 30 years, has been named dean of the university’s Cockrell School of Engineering after a national search.