External Advisory Committee

The External Advisory Committee (EAC) is comprised of leaders in academia and industry who support excellence in engineering education. The committee meets twice a year to provide counsel and help the department achieve its strategic goals. 

Committee members assist in promoting academic excellence, recruiting quality students, fostering professional and peer recognition of faculty, and interacting with the student-faculty-administrative-alumni community.

Specifically, the objectives of the External Advisory Committees are to advise the department of the professional requirements of private enterprise, providing a forum in which teaching, research, professional development, and academic excellence can be discussed. They also assist in developing effective programs for recruiting outstanding undergraduate and graduate students, and they further aid the department in approved fund-raising programs.

2020-2021 Members 

Michael Ahern
Pivot Engineers, PLLC

Christine Alemany
Trailblaze Growth Advisors

Mike Arellano
Austin District Deputy Engineer

Jessica Baker
Executive Vice President
Halff Associates

Richard Ballou
L.A. Fuess Partners

Becky Carroll
Vice President

Justin Carpenter
Commercial Manager

Jerry Crawford
Vice President and General Manager
Turner Construction

Elaine Darby
Principal Engineer
Anchor QEA

Rachael Keish
Anchor QEA, LLC

Steve Leverette
Leverette Offshore LLC

Tanya Luthi
Structural Engineer
Fast + Epp Structural Engineers

Amanda Masino
Associate Professor of Biology
Huston-Tillotson University

Pat McCelvey
Oil and Gas Advisor
Llanite, LLC

George McGlamery
Senior Commercial Consultant
Exxon Mobil Global Service Company

Jorge Morales
Director for Watershed Protection
City of Austin

Lindsay O'Leary (EAC Chair)
Executive Director
ASCE Texas Section

Seth Russell
Texas Construction Attorney
Andrews Myers

Scott Sevigny
Shah Smith & Associates

Elizabeth Slyziuk
Associate Principal 
Page Sutherland

Steve Smith
Vice President
Trinity Industries, Inc.

Ben Wylie
Wylie Engineering