The American Meteorological Society recognizes Dev Niyogi as the 2023 Lansberg Award winner.

Per the AMS website, the award "recognizes an individual or team for exemplary contributions to the fields of urban meteorology, climatology, or hydrology." Niyogi, who is also a professor within the Jackson School of Geosciences, is a renowned climatologist, and known for his research in surface models, and the effects of land cover changes on the climate.