News & Features

During the 2012 Alumni Banquet and Academy of Distinguished Alumni Induction Ceremony in October, the department recognized an outstanding young graduate who has become an influential leader in the engineering community. Mark Waggoner (MSCE 1999) is the 2012 award recipient.

Lance Manuel, professor in Mechanics, Uncertainty, and Simulation in Engineering (MUSE), has received the Texas Blazers Outstanding Faculty Award at the Texas Blazers Faculty Appreciation Breakfast held in November 2012.

David R. Maidment, Hussein M. Alharthy Centennial Chair in Civil Engineering, was selected to receive the 2012 Ray K. Linsley Award from the American Institute of Hydrology.

On 1 December 2012, more than 200 alumni, colleagues, friends and family members gathered to honor Dr. Joseph F. Malina, Jr.