News & Features

NAE Inductees Honored by UT Austin President

national academies

President Bill Powers recently hosted a reception honoring five UT faculty members inducted into three national academies. The Tower was lighted orange in their honor.

One professor and two alumni from the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin have been elected as members.

Sharon L. Wood, the Robert L. Parker Sr. Centennial Professor and chair in the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering, was recognized for her design of reinforced concrete structures and associated seismic instrumentation for extreme loadings and environment. She is the first woman in the area of structural engineering to become a member of the NAE.

Rex Tillerson, B.S. in civil engineering ’75, was recognized for engineering leadership in the production of hydrocarbons in remote and challenging environments. Tillerson, the CEO of Exxon Mobil, has been a member of the Cockrell School’s Engineering Advisory Board for the past six years and is a member of the UT Development Board and the CAEE Academy of Distinguished Alumni.

Gregory Deierlein, Ph.D. in civil engineering ’88, is the John A. Blume Professor in the Stanford University School of Engineering. He was recognized for the development of advanced structural analysis and design techniques and their implementation in design codes.

Read President Powers' blog, Tower Talk , for his perspective on the inductions.

For more information, please contact Laura Klopfenstein at (512) 471-1279.