News & Features

Richard Corsi - UT Austin Academy of Distinguished Teachers

 Richard Corsi speaking behind podium

May 4, 2015

Richard Corsi and two other faculty members at The University of Texas at Austin have been named to the university's respected Academy of Distinguished Teachers for 2015, said Gregory L. Fenves, executive vice president and provost.

“These three new inductees are outstanding examples of the excellence in scholarship UT Austin champions across a diverse array of fields,” Fenves said. “They have combined nationally renowned research with innovative classroom teaching, expanding knowledge while helping students launch careers.”

The academy was created in 1995 to recognize tenured faculty members who throughout their careers have maintained significant contributions to education, particularly at the undergraduate level.

The faculty members were named to the academy based on recommendations from an ad hoc faculty and student committee that reviewed nominations of faculty members. Deans nominate faculty members with input from others in the faculty, students and academy members from their departments.

Academy members receive the title "Distinguished Academy Professor" and a $7,500 increase in annual academic salary, effective the following academic year.

The academy serves as an advisory group to the executive vice president and provost on  teaching excellence and will provide institutional leadership and guidance for the distinctive undergraduate experience available in our research university environment.

Mechele Dickerson from the School of Law and John Markert, Department of Physics, College of Natural Sciences were also named 2015 Distinguished Teachers.

Four other faculty from the Department of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering also hold this honor: Chandra Bhat, Oguzhan Bayrak, David Fowler and Desmond Lawler.