Faculty

Photo of Apte, Joshua

Apte, Joshua

Assistant Professor

Email: jsapte@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-6039
Office: ECJ 5.422

Research Interests: Sustainability in the built environment; methods for air pollution exposure assessment; atmospheric aerosols; environmental issues in low income countries (air pollution and climate change mitigation).

Photo of Charbeneau, Randall

Charbeneau, Randall

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research with The University of Texas System & Professor

Jewel McAlister Smith Professorship in Engineering

Email: charbeneau@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 499-4629
Office: OHH 314

Research Interests: Hydraulics; Stormwater management; Groundwater hydrology; Subsurface fate and transport of chemicals and radionuclides; Radiological assessment; Modeling

Photo of Faust, Kasey

Faust, Kasey

Assistant Professor

Email: faustk@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 475-8059
Office: ECJ 5.438

Research Interests: Infrastructure management and decision making; Infrastructure interdependencies; Intersection of engineering and policy; Public involvement in infrastructure decisions; Coupled human infrastructure interdependencies; Impact of urban decline on infrastructure systems

Photo of Hodges, Ben

Hodges, Ben

Associate Professor

Carl Ernest and Mattie Ann Muldrow Reistle, Jr. Centennial Fellowship in Engineering

Email: hodges@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4730
Office: ECJ 9.102G

Research Interests: Hydrodynamics; Transport and water quality issues in lakes, rivers and estuaries

Photo of Johnson, Blair

Johnson, Blair

Assistant Professor

Email: blairjohnson@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-1863
Office: ECJ 8.214

Photo of Katz, Lynn

Katz, Lynn

Director - Center for Water and the Environment & Professor

Bettie Margaret Smith Professorship in Engineering

Email: lynnkatz@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4244
Office: ECJ 8.614

Research Interests: Contaminant fate and transport; Combined abiotic/biotic treatment systems for in-situ remediation; Environmental surface chemistry

Photo of Kinnas, Spyros

Kinnas, Spyros

Associate Director - Offshore Technology Research Center & Professor

Hudson Matlock Professorial Endowed Excellence Fund in Civil Engineering

Email: kinnas@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 475-7969
Office: ECJ 8.604

Research Interests: Ocean engineering; Hydrodynamics; Cavitation; Wave mechanics; Computational fluid dynamics (CFD); Design of ocean vehicle control and propulsion systems; Tidal turbines;

Photo of Kinney, Kerry

Kinney, Kerry

Professor

L.P. Gilvin Centennial Professor in Engineering

Email: kakinney@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-1740
Office: ECJ 8.212

Research Interests: Beneficial application of microorganisms to the treatment of pollutants in the environment; Algae-to-biofuel production processes; Potentially detrimental microbial communities that develop in indoor environments

Photo of Kirisits, Mary Jo

Kirisits, Mary Jo

Associate Professor

Fluor Centennial Teaching Fellowship in Engineering #1

Email: kirisits@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-7120
Office: ECJ 8.216

Research Interests: Biological drinking water treatment processes; Microbial transformation of inorganic contaminants; Application of molecular biology to biological water treatment processes; Rainwater harvesting; Impacts of nanomaterials on microorganisms in engineered water treatment systems; Biofilms; Quorum sensing in Pseudomonas aeruginosa biofilms; Microbial community structure of pediatric otitis media

Photo of Lawler, Desmond

Lawler, Desmond

Professor

Nassir I. Al-Rashid Chair in Civil Engineering

Email: dlawler@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4595
Office: ECJ 8.202

Research Interests: Particles in water and wastewater treatment processes; Mathematical modeling of treatment processes; Physical-chemical treatment; Drinking and industrial process water treatment

Photo of Liljestrand, Howard

Liljestrand, Howard

Professor

Gerard A. Rohlich Regents Professorship in Civil Engineering

Email: liljestrand@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4604
Office: ECJ 9.102F

Research Interests: Aquatic chemistry; Contaminant transport; Pollutant containment and remediation acid deposition; Air pollution modeling

Photo of Maidment, David

Maidment, David

Professor

Hussein M. Alharthy Centennial Chair in Civil Engineering

Email: maidment@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-0065
Office: ECJ 8.610

Research Interests: Geographic information systems(GIS); Expert systems and statistical techniques in hydrology and water resources planning; Water use forecasting

Photo of McKinney, Daene

McKinney, Daene

Associate Department Chair for Administration and Planning & Professor

W.A. (Bill) Cunningham Professorship in Engineering

Email: daene@aol.com
Phone: (512) 471-5644
Office: PRC 119, ECJ 9.102H

Research Interests: Sustainable management of water resources, transboundary river basins, optimization, uncertainty analysis, climate change adaptation, glacier-dominated river basins, cooperative game theory in water resources

Photo of Passalacqua, Paola

Passalacqua, Paola

Associate Professor

Email: paola@austin.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-3319
Office: ECJ 8.612

Research Interests: Multi-scale analysis of hydrological processes; Dynamics of environmental transport on river networks and deltaic systems; Quantitative analysis and modeling of landscape forming processes, geomorphic transport laws and subgrid-scale parameterization.

Photo of Saleh, Navid

Saleh, Navid

Associate Professor

Email: navid.saleh@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-9175
Office: ECJ 8.608

Research Interests: Environmental nanotechnology; physicochemical processes; fate and transport of nanomaterials in the environment; groundwater remediation

Photo of Sela, Lina

Sela, Lina

Assistant Professor

Email: linasela@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-6879
Office: ECJ 8.208

Research Interests: Water resources systems management, cyber-physical urban systems

Photo of Speitel, Gerald

Speitel, Gerald

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

C.W. Cook Professorship in Environmental Engineering

Email: speitel@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-7995
Office: ECJ 10.326

Research Interests: Treatment processes for hazardous organic chemicals, including biodegradation and adsorption; Drinking water treatment; Computer models of treatment processes

Photo of Werth, Charles

Werth, Charles

Professor

Bettie Margaret Smith Chair in Environmental Health Engineering

Email: werth@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-1626
Office: ECJ 8.206

Research Interests: Reactive transport and fate of pollutants in water resources, including groundwater and urban lakes, and the development of sustainable technologies for pollution removal from impacted waters.

Adjunct Faculty and Lecturers

Photo of Ford, Davis

Ford, Davis

Adjunct Professor

Email:

Research Faculty

Photo of Barrett, Michael

Barrett, Michael

Research Professor

Email: mbarrett@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-0935
Office: PRC 119

Research Interests: Quality, impacts, and mitigation of urban, agricultural, and construction site stormwater runoff

Emeritus and Retired Faculty

Photo of Armstrong, Neal

Armstrong, Neal

Professor Emeritus

Zarrow Centennial Professor Emeritus in Engineering

Email: neal_armstrong@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 232-3305
Office: FAC 424B

Photo of Gloyna, Earnest

Gloyna, Earnest

Dean Emeritus

Bettie Margaret Smith Chair Emeritus in Environmental Health Engineering

Email: e.gloyna@mail.utexas.edu
Office: ECJ 9.102A

 

Holley, Edward

Professor Emeritus

Email: erholley@utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4610
Office: ECJ 9.102E

 

Loehr, Raymond

Professor Emeritus

Hussein M. Alharty Chair Emeritus in Civil Engineering

Email: r.loehr@mail.utexas.edu
Phone: (512) 471-4624
Office: ECJ 9.102

 

Wagner, Norman

Associate Professor Emeritus

Email: nobarwagner@mail.utexas.edu